#1 most loved electric vehicle, solar, & battery news & analysis site in the world. Support our work today!

Batteries no image

Published on November 15th, 2014 | by James Ayre


BASF + Volkswagen Award Dr Vanessa Wood With “Science Award Electrochemistry” For Li-Ion Battery Work

November 15th, 2014 by  

This year’s international “Science Award Electrochemistry” was recently awarded by Volkswagen and BASF to Dr Vanessa Wood, of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zürich), for her work with lithium-ion battery technology.

Dr Wood was chosen specifically owing to her work analyzing the way that the microstructures of electrodes influence the efficiency of lithium-ion batteries. As part of this work, Dr Wood developed a new method of image analysis for this specific purpose — which is, to its great benefit, low-cost and compatible with current standard manufacturing processes.

Dr Wood, and her fellow researchers, utilized the new techniques “to quantify lithiation dynamics and tortuosity in lithium-ion batteries and their effects on cell performance and safety,” a press release noted. “They have demonstrated the first large-volume, 3D reconstructions of lithium-ion battery porous electrode microstructures and also demonstrated the first quantitative visualization of battery degradation during cell operation.”

The “Science Award Electrochemistry” was presented via a ceremony at Stanford University, by Dr Kurt Bock, Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors of BASF SE, and Professor Dr Martin Winterkorn, Chairman of the Board of Management of Volkswagen AG.

For a bit of background, the annual “Science Award Electrochemistry” was initiated only a few years ago, in 2012, by BASF and Volkswagen. The purpose of the award is, according to those involved, to target and reward “outstanding scientists in the global academic research community” — with the aim of spurring “exceptional scientific and engineering achievements in electrochemistry” and as a means of providing an incentive for the development of high-performance energy storage technology.

The overall annual prize money is capped at €50,000 — with €25,000 of that going to the first place winner, which is Dr Vanessa Wood in this case.

Image Credit: BASF/Volkswagen 


Appreciate CleanTechnica’s originality? Consider becoming a CleanTechnica member, supporter, or ambassador — or a patron on Patreon.

Sign up for our free daily newsletter or weekly newsletter to never miss a story.

Have a tip for CleanTechnica, want to advertise, or want to suggest a guest for our CleanTech Talk podcast? Contact us here.

Latest Cleantech Talk Episode

Tags: , , ,

About the Author

James Ayre's background is predominantly in geopolitics and history, but he has an obsessive interest in pretty much everything. After an early life spent in the Imperial Free City of Dortmund, James followed the river Ruhr to Cofbuokheim, where he attended the University of Astnide. And where he also briefly considered entering the coal mining business. He currently writes for a living, on a broad variety of subjects, ranging from science, to politics, to military history, to renewable energy.

Back to Top ↑