Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Clean Power

Abengoa Commissions South Africa’s First Concentrated Solar Power Plant

South Africa is celebrating yet another success of the Renewable Energy Independent Power Producers Programme with the operationalisation of the country’s first concentrated solar power plant.

Abengoa Solar Parabolic TroughAbengoa and Industrial Development Corporation (IDC) have commissioned a 100 MW solar thermal power project that they had jointly secured during the first auctions of the Renewable Energy Independent Power Producers Programme (REIPPP). The KaXu Solar One project uses parabolic trough reflectors and was commissioned after about 27 months of construction.

KaXu Solar One also incorporates a storage system that would generate 100 MW electricity for 2.5 hours in absence of solar radiation. Storage system is based on molten salts.

The project is jointly owned by Abengoa, which has a 51% stake, IDC with a 29% stake, and KaXu Community Trust with a 20% stake. The estimated project investment is about $1 billion, the majority of which was provided by several banks including the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), the International Finance Corporation (IFC), and the European Investment Bank (EIB).

Abengoa is also working on another 100 MW CSP project adjacent to the KaXu power project. Abengoa owns 100% stake in the Xina Solar project which is expected to be commissioned by 2017. The project will have provision of thermal energy storage for 5 hours. This project, too, uses parabolic trough reflectors.

Abengoa and IDC have partnered for a 50 MW CSP project as well. The Khi Solar One project will use the solar power tower technology. The project will have 2 hours of saturated steam storage capacity.

All these projects have been secured by Abengoa and its partners in auctions held under the REIPPP. These projects have secured financing from several banks including the African Development Bank, Agence Française de Développement, Clean Technology Fund (CTF), KfW, and the World Bank. All three projects will supply the electricity generated to Eskom, South Africa’s largest power utility.

During the 3 auctions under the REIPPP, the South African government has allocated 60 projects. The majority of these projects (35) would be based on solar photovoltaic technology with a cumulative generation capacity of 1,540 MW. Five solar thermal power plants have also been allocated with a total capacity of 400 MW. Of the 4 CSP projects whose information is available, 3 have been allocated to Abengoa Solar.

Image Credit: Abengoa Solar

Appreciate CleanTechnica’s originality? Consider becoming a CleanTechnica Member, Supporter, Technician, or Ambassador — or a patron on Patreon.
Have a tip for CleanTechnica, want to advertise, or want to suggest a guest for our CleanTech Talk podcast? Contact us here.

New Podcast: Cruise Talks Autonomous Driving Tech, Regulations, & Auto Design

New Podcast: Battery Mineral Mining Policies & Regional Trends

Written By

Mridul currently works as Head-News & Data at Climate Connect Limited, a market research and analytics firm in the renewable energy and carbon markets domain. He earned his Master’s in Technology degree from The Energy & Resources Institute in Renewable Energy Engineering and Management. He also has a bachelor’s degree in Environmental Engineering. Mridul has a keen interest in renewable energy sector in India and emerging carbon markets like China and Australia.


#1 most loved electric vehicle, solar energy, and battery news & analysis site in the world.


Support our work today!


Power CleanTechnica: $3/Month

Tesla News Solar News EV News Data Reports


EV Sales Charts, Graphs, & Stats


Our Electric Car Driver Report

30 Electric Car Benefits

Tesla Model 3 Video

Renewable Energy 101 In Depth

solar power facts

Tesla News

EV Reviews

Home Efficiency

You May Also Like


Asambe, an all-electric transportation and end-to-end logistics service, is scaling up operations building on its initial pilot and several partnerships for delivery services. Asambe...

Clean Power

South Africa’s grid is dominated by coal. According to the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), published in its latest “Statistics of utility-scale...


BMW South Africa has been really good at promoting electric vehicles (EVs) in South Africa. Since 2015, when they brought in the first-generation BMW...

Clean Power

The Ford Motor Company of Southern Africa’s factory in Silverton, Pretoria, South Africa is getting a massive 13. 5 megawatt (MW) solar system. This...

Copyright © 2021 CleanTechnica. The content produced by this site is for entertainment purposes only. Opinions and comments published on this site may not be sanctioned by and do not necessarily represent the views of CleanTechnica, its owners, sponsors, affiliates, or subsidiaries.